The pattering of rain on my windowsill indicated that the monsoon season had indeed commenced, gradually taking the reins from the oppressively hot summer season. It had been a week since this rainfall had begun and due to extensive traffic conditions, my school had declared a holiday. Although this meant that I could sleep in late, I wasn’t too thrilled. My mother would never let me do what I really desired; going out to play in the rain.

I opened the window of my bedroom slightly and peered outside. Cars were lined up on the streets, bumper to bumper, stuck in heavy traffic. Improper drainage systems resulted in water almost up to the tyres of the cars. Many people were returning home from a day of work, only to face traffic, which augmented their frustration. Occasionally, I saw some children in school uniform occupying the back seats of cars, indicating that parents were picking them up. As I looked around and breathed in the fresh aroma of the wind and rain, I observed two boys, in the range of five to eight years, merrily playing with an umbrella which had been torn from a few places. They were dressed raggedly and were very thin, their bones visible below their skin.

The children played, opening and closing the umbrella, laughing and rolling on the ground. They seemed oblivious to the traffic and all the honking of the car horns. They were doing exactly what I had wanted to, forget about all the worries of my life, homework, studies, classes and just enjoy the rainy weather. These two children came from poverty, with almost no indulgences and luxuries available in life, yet they found a best friend in nature. Then, there were people who were in the traffic, having a roof over their heads and air conditioners running in the inside of their cars, yet complaining about the aggravation of traffic.

Despite being able to afford the many luxuries of life, many people are still not content. This is due to the fact that they expect too much and feel like they deserve far more than what they receive. I observed that these children were carefree, fully aware of the fact that in the end, they would reminisce the days they enjoyed, not the days that they spent tired and aggravated.

I wished I could be a young toddler again. These days with increasing responsibilities and work, I wished for those days when my mother would take me to the park, gently holding my hand. I could play and get dirty, not worrying about my demeanour or appearance. As I grew older, these activities gradually diminished, reaching an end.

I wanted to sit and watch this scene forever. The cars were an element of the manmade world whereas the rain was a gift from nature, a break from all those days of sunshine. Many people dislike the rain and describe it as grey and dull, however, as I stood at my window watching those children play, I realised just how much I loved it. I wanted to capture this moment forever, so I hurriedly grabbed my camera and clicked a picture. This moment redefined my understand of the expression ‘Be happy with what you have.’ For now, I had rain and I was going to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

